Brisbane Day 1: Lovers Lighting Lesson

For my 30th birthday my husband took me away for a few nights into the heart of beautiful Brisbane (for those subscribers who are overseas, this is in Queensland, Down Under).  He also gave me my very own DSLR and prime lens (D90 with Nikkor 24mm 2.8 for the techies) as a gift and Brissy was the perfect playground to learn all about my new toy. We spent the first night of our holiday playing silly-buggers and took way too many photos of ourselves as we played with the lighting from shop signs and fancy spot lights in the Queen Street Mall.  We got plenty of stares, but we were having a cracker of a time and it felt like we were ‘young’ again (haha!).

I learnt a fair bit about ISO, aperture and shutter speed-thinga-ma-gig, so now I can take a few pics that look pretty okay (but it takes me a few shots to get it right!).

Here are SOME of the photos we took in Queen Street Mall, just up the road from where we stayed.

Trying to be unsuccessfully secretive while a tour group are being told ghost stories on the bridge above us.

The Queen Street Mall

My dream 'Biggest Loser' outfit ;) All the contestants seem to have one in a special glass box.

A pretty rainbow for my next lighting experiment!

While hubby is testing the camera versus the purple lights above us, I do a spot of Facebooking.

A purple light shot...and it is getting late.

We found a red light that we could use, but we were a bit over smiling now so the sillies decided to come out instead. Kirk can't seem to find any original faces poses. Ever since he has had his beard like this he is too cool to smile in photos. The beard has a purpose...to be revealed in another post, at another time.

Back at the apartment after our adventures, it is movie and Turkish pizza time with a beer and a glass of wine.

3 responses to this post.

  1. [...] Unearthing the Spud learning a little bit about God and a lot about myself HomeMe RSS ← Brisbane Day 1: Lovers Lighting Lesson [...]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Husbalicious on April 13, 2011 at 9:14 am

    What a lovely night we had darl. It’s a pity the photos only show a tiny fraction of the fun we had. We shall definitely do this again one day.. Maybe for my birth-week..??

    Reply

  3. [...] Botanical Gardens, and then less than a minutes walk to the Queen Street Mall (which I mentioned here and here and here).  We originally planned to stay for just two nights thinking that would be [...]

    Reply

What do you think?

