Kids & the World…their view

I love the quirky things children come up with.  Their insight into the workings of the world are just so beautiful.  When I used to work in Prep, I would come home with all sorts of stories around what the children would tell me about life with their big-eyed seriousness.

The World According to Kids: A child’s eye view of life, love and chocolate cake‘, by Sally Collins, is a sweet little book I picked up at a second-hand bookstore on the Sunshine Coast about some of the funny things kids say.

Here are some words of wisdom -


When your mum is mad at your dad, don’t let her brush your hair – Taylia, 11

If you want a kitten, start out by asking for a horse – Naomi, 15

(Waking suddenly after her first memory of a dream), Mummy! I’ve got movies behind my eyes! – Greta, 3

Never talk back to a teacher whose eyes and ears and twitching – Andrew, 9

(When asked why you have to go to school), Because children have to have a run and the school has a bigger yard – Eve, 5

(While running to the toilet), Stay in there wee-wee, I’m putting you in the toilet – Georgia, 3

(Pointing at his bottom), I’ve got a frog in there – Alexander, 2

(When asked where the food goes), It comes out our brain – Ned, 4

Some of the kids at school say that God is everywhere but if that’s true, he’s in our chairs and we are sitting on him – Alexa, 6

When I grow up I don’t want to be an adult anyway. I want to be a fireman – Harry, 4

(When asked what he wants to be when he grows up), A policeman – so I can arrest our school – Lincoln, 5

Mummy, why are your muscles underneath your arm and everyone else’s are on top? – Callum, 7

I know my older sister loves me because she gives me all her old clothes and has to go out and buy new ones – Lauren, 4

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mum xx on May 3, 2011 at 6:13 am

    Too cute…love it!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Belinda on June 16, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Oh how adorable! I love what comes out of little kids mouths!

    Reply

What do you think?

