STRESS

I haven’t written on here for a while, cause I have been busy being stressed. I don’t like to parade that word – “stressed” – around willy-nilly as it really should have a lot of weight to it, not just “oh, I am sooooooo stressed…” while on a holiday and referring to which restaurant to dine at for the evening. When I say I am stressed, I mean I have come to a place where I consider REAL stress to be overshadowing other important areas in my life.

I wanna know what you do for stress! Come on, cough it up! What works for you?

I need some ideas.  According to my doctor, I am a “stress-bomb waiting to go off” and on the verge of great damage to my body. I have vivid images of the carnage. I was told on the weekend that one of my pupils is bigger than the other (now you are all going to stare at me funny) and this is a sign that things are going downhill. My adrenal glands are fatigued according to a few. I don’t know how to get rid of the stressed out feeling. I am pretty sure that I do not have any more stress than the next person…perhaps maybe my body deals (or doesn’t deal) with it differently, or can’t process stress. Like it can’t process gluten. But I don’t know how to start my stress-free diet. I have been told that those two little adrenal glands may have a lot to do with it, so maybe that is the key!

‘The adrenals are involved in manufacturing numerous hormones; blood sugar regulation; the regulation of the body’s minerals; producing and maintaining the body’s energy levels in conjunction with the thyroid; and producing stress-monitoring hormones.

The adrenals, the body’s shock absorbers, are the core of the endocrine stress response system. Two of their most important hormones, adrenaline and cortisol, are responsible for the fight-or-flight response. Adrenaline deals primarily with short-term stress while cortisol is produced as a result of both acute and long-term stress.’ Dr Sherrill Sellman

I am the type of person who, when feeling overwhelmed, gets stressed. My first reaction is to retreat. “I need to rest, I need to be in my environment with no disruptions, I need quiet and peace and to flush my phone down the dunny.”

Just looking at this makes everything feel better!

I want to lock myself away in my home and do nothing at all. I just want to shut myself in my house and potter about with no agenda or time frame or responsibility or requirement to do anything – just for a single full day. This is how I feel when I am stressed. The problem with this is finding the TIME for that day and this can be quite stressful too.

There are so many commitments in life and I guess it all boils down to the feeling of being stretched too far. Tugged, pulled and needed in so many areas that I feel like I am the one being left out. I miss out on my own attention!  What a weird thing to do!

So how do you handle your stress?

6 responses to this post.

  1. I think you need to schedule one of those days into your diary. If thats what it takes for you to unwind and feel balanced again..then do it. And dont feel guilty about it. And worry less. Worrying is the biggest stress causer. Give your worries over to God and let him sort it out. Just like the good book says to.

    xx

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mum on July 19, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Looking at your recent history Treens with Miscarriages and the Ectopic, I think it was a day on its way. It is not that you have dwelt on it, because I know both you and Kirk rest in the Lord in all things….but sweetheart, your body has been through so much, this is a reaction to it all!! Adrenal glands are a wonderful creation by our Heavenly Father, and sometimes they talk to us and say…Just stop for a minute will ya! :) You are so precious and always thinking of others…My thoughts are that perhaps it’s time to give into it and just take some time for you!! I know it’s easier said than done but you are definitely worth it!! Mum xxx

    Reply

  3. I know… we can both go here: http://www.oscarswaterfront.com/
    and do absolutely NOTHING!

    I hear you about feeling overwhelmed and stressed, it seems to be my pattern too. I’m a bit scared to go to the Drs now, maybe I’ll have things ‘wrong’ with me too : (

    Definitely try to find things to do that you know lowers your stress level, and prioritise to do them. It’s easier said than done, but if you don’t plan it will never happen.

    Take it easy : )

    xo

    Reply

    • It looks like planning some time out is the key! I am totally there at Oscars Waterfront – how perfect is it! I went to the doctors and it looks like it may be a mix of things, but we have an action plan. Hope you are feeling okay Bec – praying some destress your way lovely xx

      Reply

What do you think?

