Your Love Song?

We all like a bit of romance right?

So, do you have a favourite love song?

One of my favourites is by John Denver. I was introduced to John Denver’s music at a young age as my parents played his record over and over and over again. Most of his lyrics are second nature to me, like riding a bike. His famous hit, “Annie’s Song” was written for his wife. Her name is Annie. I know! What a beautiful way to express how you feel about someone you love. My husband and I claimed it yonks ago (like a billion other people) as “our” song. Never really had an “our” song cause it seemed a little too romancy…but I like having a song :)

I love the first verse how it describes all those moments that make you feel so alert and alive, e.g. – You fill up my senses, like a night in the forest: everything is tuned in, we are not normally in the forest so everything looks, feels, sounds and smells different. Even more so at night. I know when I go camping out in the bush, my senses come alive. At night when it is pitch black around me, I hear every twig crack and every animal noise!

According to Wikipedia: Denver “wrote this song in about ten-and-a-half minutes one day on a ski lift” to the top of Ajax Mountain in Aspen, Colorado, as the physical exhilaration of having “just skied down a very difficult run” and the feeling of total immersion in the beauty of the colors and sounds that filled all senses inspired him to think about his wife.

Here are the lyrics to Annie’s Song:

You fill up my senses 
like a night in the forest 
like the mountains in springtime, 
like a walk in the rain 
like a storm in the desert, 
like a sleepy blue ocean 
you fill up my senses, 
come fill me again. 

Come let me love you, 
let me give my life to you 
let me drown in your laughter, 
let me die in your arms 
let me lay down beside you, 
let me always be with you 
come let me love you, 
come love me again. 

One response to this post.

  1. What a beautiful song! Ours is this one: http://youtu.be/D_XwAKrLidw
    Brendan suprised me and sang and played it on the piano at our reception – I was a mess!

    Reply

What do you think?

