Homemade Finger Buns

I was scouring over the recipes on the Thermomix Recipe Community (when I should be writing reports….I know) when I came across something that looks easy, yummy and perfect for work – “Finger Buns”.

I like to try and find ways to make the food we eat more organic and less processed, so thought I would have a go at making these little beauties before I sat down to write reports.

I never thought I would be someone who would go organic in my food choices when I can. I have always thought the whole “organic vs. sprayed” food debate was a bunch of baloney…..but now after researching it myself, I get it. Not everything hubby and I eat is organic – no way! – but we try and substitute when we can.  BUT I definitely steer well away from Genetic Modified Foods…that is just plain freaky!

As you read through this recipe, you will see things got a little runny – mixture and icing – so I just kept adding bits and pieces until it thickened up. That is the way I cook…a bit left-field :)

Finger Buns

Buns -I had to add more SRF to the mixture as it was too runny. I am told by my taste-testers that this is the BEST dough recipe ever. “Tastes just like damper”.

  • 280g organic self raising flour
  • 30g homemade butter
  • 50g sultanas
  • 30g organic raw sugar
  • 170g raw milk
  • 1 backyard egg

Sweat Topping (Yep, I had to reread too – sweat, not sweet)

Putting the sweat-stuff on the warm buns

  • 2 tbs hot water
  • 2 tbs castor sugar (ground up in TM from organic raw sugar)

Icing Sugar – a bit too runny, so put it in the fridge to set. It was the water content of the strawberries I bet!

The icing hardening in the fridge.

  • 140g icing sugar (made the same way as castor sugar)
  • Some fresh strawberries and a touch of strawberry essence (recipe says a drop of pink colouring instead of both of these)
  • 1 tbs hot water
  • 1 tbs homemade butter

1. Preheat oven to 220C. Line baking tray with baking paper.

2. Add SRF to TM 4 sec/sp 8. Add butter 8 sec/sp6. Add sultana’s & castor sugar & mix REVERSE 10sec/speed 2.5

3. Remove MC & place a tall empty cup ontop of TM lid. Clear the scale. Add milk & egg into cup.

4. Place TM on REVERSE 15 sec/sp5, while adding milk & egg mixture through the lid hole. Do not over-mix.

5. Knead for 30 sec/Interval sp. 6. Turn onto lightly floured surface. Break into 10 even sized pieces & shape into oval finger bun shapes (smaller is better).

7. Place buns close together on baking paper & brush top lightly with milk. Bake for 12-15 mins until very light brown.

Sweat Topping

1. Combine water & castor sugar in a small cup. Brush over hot buns & allow to cool on a wire rack.

Icing

1. Combined icing sugar, water & butter. Either in a small bowl or in TM with the BUTTERFLY 5 sec/sp 4

2. Add the pureed strawberries (or food colouring) & mix for a further 3 sec/sp 4 with BUTTERFLY.

3. Spread mixture on buns & serve with homemade butter

I strangely didn’t take a photo of the finished product because….well….I forgot. They got wrapped up and ready for lunches. You can use your imagination though. They got the big thumbs up from husband!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Amy on November 21, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Wow, real strawberry in the topping; i’m going to try these when we (all 6 of us in our family) finish our current elimination diet. Phew – hard work. I looked you up for how to do ghee in the TMX, as I’m doing a Chicken Liver Pate for my husband to snack on.

    My kids will love these in their lunches too!

    Reply

What do you think?

