My Community Cross-section: Fiona

Fiona 

Happy. Feeling Good. 2011

Location of birth: Melbourne. Year I was born:1981

Any interesting family history: Both grandparents on my dad’s side were born in Malta and migrated to Melbourne in 1956. My grandmother travelled with my Grandpa by boat for 3 months whilst pregnant with my Dad. Both grandparents and my mum were born in Italy and migrated to Canberra in the 70’s. My mum was 12. Had a hard time coping with the move and made herself very sick by not eating. My dad’s cousins lived in Canberra and he met my mum whilst visiting them. He used to drive up there after work every Friday after work to see her for the weekend. They eventually married and he brought her to Melbourne.

Me as a newborn, August 1981

My little brother Joe, my gorgeous young mummy and Me. 1983.

Prep photo - terrible fringe. 1987.

Jobs you have had: So many when I think back. First job was at Darrell Lea at 14. Also worked in a Pharmacy as well whilst doing VCE. Worked in a Chinese Restaurant for a few years. Tutored children whilst at Uni. Worked in a DVD store. Worked for the NAB bank for a few years whilst studying. Worked for a Recruitment Agency. Worked for my Dad’s business in the office for a while. And finally as a Teacher………….and continued to tutor after my kids came along.

Things you are passionate about: My family……particularly being a mother. Has always been in my blood. Taking photos, everyone that knows me calls me the paparazzi. Teaching and trying to do it well. Organisation….I wouldn’t function properly without it. Positive thinking……..the mind is amazing if you use it to your advantage. Music…….has a way of taking you back or removing you from the craziness of life when needed. Being fit and healthy and transforming my body…………..my latest passion.

Things you don’t like: Illness. Superficial, two-faced people. Negativity. Insects. The lack of hours in a day. The amount of calories in yummy food.

Places you have lived: Only ever lived in Melbourne, but I love it!

Dream/goals as you were growing up: Always knew I wanted to be a teacher and more so a mother. Did dream about being a film maker for a while in high school when I became obsessed with making a documentary about school life in year 11 (still have all that footage somewhere). Simply just wanted to be happily married, to a wonderful man, with a few kids and a stable job. Didn’t think it would all happen so quickly, but I know it’s meant to be. Couldn’t be happier.

A very special Christmas, 2009

What was it like growing up: I am the eldest of four children. I two younger brother’s and a sister. We had a normal dysfunctional upbringing. My parents worked their butts off to put us through private schools, something now I look back on in awe. Don’t know how they did it. Us kids, complained, fought, laughed, picked on each other and generally went out of our way to annoy the hell out of each other. Never got along with my sister until we grew older, she cramped my style, LOL. I love her to death now though, just took a bit of growing up to get there. Have fond memories of holidays to Angelsea, drives to Canberra to visit mum’s family, going to the footy most weekends all together to watch the Magpies, weekends at the footy club watching my brother’s play, Mum’s yummy home cooked meals on cold nights, making home videos with my siblings as youngsters and watching them all evolve.

Me and my little sister Daniela.

Advice you would now give yourself as a child: It’s funny how lately the advice of my parents and grandparents keeps haunting me. Stop trying to grow up too quickly. Watch your weight now, it’s so much harder to lose it when you are older. The years pass so much quicker when you finish school. Save as much as you can now! Hindsight hey?? However, I think the main things would be to believe in yourself, trust your instincts and what’s meant to be is meant to be.

My beautiful parents and two very proud grandparents. Joe and Rosa. 2009

Life changing moments: Losing my grandfather to a very quick diagnosis of Cancer. I thought he would outlive all of us. Still think about him every day. He was the most kind, gentle, admirable and loving man. Hardest thing to swallow is that he will never meet my children. He would love them to bits. Meeting my husband and soul mate – nothing has ever felt more right. It was instantaneous and weirdly the death of my grandfather brought us together. I always say that I lost one amazing man at that time but gained another. He’s my rock. I always hoped that ‘true love’ was possible when I was younger, but really never thought it would be this amazing. He makes me laugh every day, makes me strong, has made me a better person, make possibilities reality and just really made my life.

Marrying the man of my dreams, Wayne. 2007

My wedding day with my bridesmaids. My best freind Sharee, my sister in law Michelle, Me, My sister Daniela and my other best friend from high school Nadia. 2007

Becoming a teacher and realizing that the relationships and bonds that you make with the children by far outways the educational side of things. The heartbreak of ending my first year as a teacher and having to say goodbye to my students. I had the most amazing grade, still feels like yesterday. Knowing that somehow you have had an impact on the lives of young and beautiful children and knowing that they have had a far greater impact on you.

Having my children. Probably the most life changing and utterly unexplainable experience. Being pregnant and giving birth is just the start. Being in awe and instantly in love with such a tiny, innocent little being. Watching it move inside your body and then feeling like you know it so well only minutes after it enters the world. And then the rollercoaster of being a mother – and watching your child grow and learn and become their own personality. Would not change it for the world. Oh and the cuddles. They are awesome.

The loves of my life. Ben and Mia 2011

My recent health kick. I have one friend in particular to thank for starting my motivation. It’s nearly been a year of hard work, eating well and changing my mind set, but I’ve lost 20 kilos, many centimeters and a few dress sizes. Can’t even remember being this size ever. Bought a size 14 pair of skinny leg jeans the other day. Still a little snug, but my new goal before I turn 30 in August is to be another 10 kilos lighter and hopefully swimming in them!

Travelling: Haven’t done a great deal of travelling. My furthest destination was my honeymoon to Fiji, which was awesome. Wish I was there now. Have never had the urge to travel, and probably neither the time, until recently. Would love to travel to Europe, Thailand and another trip to Fiji with my hubby one day.

Honeymoon bliss. Fiji 2007

What do you think your future holds: I can only hope it holds many more years of growth, health and happiness. Time certainly passes by so much quicker once you have children. Feel like they are changing and growing before my eyes. I would love to simply have a good balance. Time for my children, my hubby and occasionally myself. The simple things in life please me. Being comfortable financially, being content professionally, being in a loving relationship, and having happy, healthy children. I can see myself continuing teaching in the future, but do have the urge to do further study at some stage, perhaps using my psychology qualifications within the educational profession at some point. I would love to do a photography course at some stage too. I have the urge for another baby – at least! Really want to be pregnant again – would love a few more – but that would mean lots of upgrades would be needed and unfortunately more money! Oh and getting that next 10kg off!! Wish me luck.

What do you think?

