My New Herb Garden

My selection of herbs

I have always wanted my very own herb garden.  I waste so many herbs when I buy a bunch from the supermarket for a recipe and then use a few sprigs and toss the rest.

Our cat Panini checking out the new herbage!

Warning Panini about my herbs - "Do Not Touch!"

Watering the soil. It was such a hot day that I set myself up in the shade and did my watering from there. I watered before I planted so that the soil compacted first.

Planting my baby herbs - can't wait to eat!

The herbs that I planted: baby spinach, cos lettuce, mix lettuce, chives, spring onion, basil, thyme, oregano, parsley.  I want to go and get some coriander and rosemary, but the shop had run out (apparently this weekend was the weekend for planting a herb garden).  In a separate tub I planted mint (which needs to be all on its own as it likes to spread), chillies and strawberries.

Read about how I protected my herb garden from my cats here.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jodes on May 3, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Biggest hat in the world – love it!

    Reply

  2. A READER’S COMMENT FROM MY FACEBOOK PAGE: Good for you- I would LOVE a herb garden- I did but now only a few sprigs of parsley left and rosemary- the rosemary was our second attempt…maybe I’m not so good at herbs! You might have to teach me!

    Reply

  3. Good luck! I have a few pots with different herbs. It’s so rewarding to grab some herbs from the garden when cooking. My next goal is to get a few vegies growing…xo

    Reply

  4. A READER’S COMMENT FROM MY FACEBOOK PAGE: Just LOVE these pics of you & your herb garden Treens 😉

    Reply

  5. […] the creation of my herb garden we immediately set up some kind of “cage” to make sure our two beloved felines stayed […]

    Reply

  6. […] sour cream, tomato pasta sauce, eggplant, mushrooms, cheese, oregano and thyme (this time from my garden!).  I just layer it up in a square dish and pop it on the oven….not too high cause you […]

    Reply

  7. Posted by Belinda on June 16, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    I love herb gardens! I live in a small unit and would love to plant some herbs in pots. I have to work out which ones can handle the full sun? Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Reply

  8. […] you have read about my herb garden here and here then you will know what is hidden under this funny looking dome (and why I have a funny looking dome […]

    Reply

What do you think?

