My Community Cross-section: Karli

A blog series on the everyday people in my community.

Karli

Name: Karli Farrow

Location of birth: Frankston, Victoria       Year I was born: 1976

Family history: Mum is Sri Lankan & came here when she was 16. Dad is an Aussie.

Jobs you have had: I worked from a young age, babysitting, (like many others; part of a babysitters club & a huge fan of the books!) I cleaned people’s homes from our church & all this was before I was legally allowed to have a job!

Once I was old enough I worked in the local fish & chip shop then the General store which was also the petrol station & post office. (Jack of all trades) While doing all of these jobs my Dad made me save nearly all of my pay which I cursed him for at the time but by the time I was 18 I could buy my own car, then I was thanking him!

I’ve also worked at Myer, Sea World & various other retail businesses. I am now a Beauty Therapist & Thermomix consultant & about to start training to become a Thermomix group leader.

Things you are passionate about: 
My family, my friends, my home & just life in general.

I LOVE Christmas, my Thermomix, sewing & all things creative or crafty, especially scrapbooking.

I love to cook, but not so much the ‘cooking’ part, I love to feed & nourish people. I love to entertain, have people in my home & provide them with some yummy food & a homely place to relax.

Things you don’t like: Scary movies!


Places you have lived: 
Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula (Beautiful place, just too cold!), Gold Coast & Sunshine Coast

Dream/goals as you were growing up:
 I’ve never really had any career aspirations, from a young age I really just wanted to be a wife, mum & homemaker. But now, since I’ve become involved with Thermomix I am excited about becoming a group leader & having a team to train, guide & mentor.

I’m a motivated person who likes to be busy, not crazy busy, just with things to do. I’m not one to sit idle.

Something that really sums up the person I’d like to be is from Proverbs 31.

It’s called “A wife of noble character” I’ve abbreviated it, to just the bits I find relevant…

-Her husband can trust her, & she will greatly enrich his life

She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.

She gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household & plan the day’s work.

She is energetic & strong, a hard worker.

She extends a helping hand to the poor & opens her arms to the needy.

She is clothed with strength & dignity, & she laughs without fear of the future.

When she speaks, her words are wise, & she gives instructions with kindness.

She carefully watches everything in her household & suffers nothing from laziness.

Her children stand & bless her.

Charm is deceptive & beauty does not last, but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.

Reward her for all she has done.

Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.

I love that!

What was it like growing up: I’m the eldest of 3 siblings & eldest of 17 cousins. My parents were always telling me that I’m a born leader, back then I was just bossy but I guess being the eldest of all of those kids was shaping me for the future.

I grew up on a farm; I learned to drive on a tractor! Weekends were spent riding BMX bikes or helping Dad herd the cows from one paddock to the next.

Advice you would now give yourself as a child: Where to start?!…

-Be confident in the person God made you to be.

-You can’t control everything, by all means prepare & plan but you don’t run the show.

Sometimes I still need to remind myself of this advice!


Life changing moments: 
3 instantly spring to mind, Eli, Noah & Jude! Meeting Glen is obviously a big one too. Who would have thought that a chance meeting in a bar could lead to the awesome life we have now!

As we parent the boys I continue to have life changing moments but their births especially were all life changing for me. Another thing I’m passionate about is natural birth. I’ll explain how I became to be so passionate about this…

When I was 19 I quit the primary teaching course I was studying at uni & moved to the Gold Coast -with a boy. I married that boy & found myself pregnant & in a very unhealthy relationship.

We ended up splitting up when I was 7 months pregnant so I moved back to Victoria & in with Mum & Dad. I did a bit of growing up in this time -as you do!

I couldn’t really get a job, who hires at 8 months pregnant?! I needed to focus on something & the upcoming birth was it!

I’d always been very interested in health & nutrition; I’d studied health education & human development at high school. But to learn what I could about birth I had to go to the local library (no internet then!)

I borrowed all the books I could on natural birth. What I learned was that women have been birthing babies for centuries & that our bodies are designed to carry & birth babies.

I learned that although we may need doctors & midwives during birth we don’t always need all the intervention that often comes with them.

I also learned a lot about water birth & how the water acts as a natural pain reliever & a relaxant, that contractions have a purpose & the more you resist them the more they’ll hurt & the longer & harder the labour will be.

I found that all of this knowledge empowered & prepared me for the natural water birth of Eli!

7 months after Eli was born I met Glen. He proposed on Eli’s 2nd birthday in front of our families & we were married the following year.

Not long after that I was pregnant again. I was a bit nervous in the lead up to Noah’s birth, was I just lucky the first time?

So I re read all the same books that had prepared me so well the first time & I prayed!

I had another beautiful water birth that I love reminiscing about. That so called luck came from learning all I could, keeping very positive & remembering that God made my body to be able to do this so trust him & everything that I’d learned.

Not long after that we moved here to the Sunny Coast & found out we were expecting baby number 3.

I started off on my usual birth preparation but to my dismay; Nambour general won’t let you have water births. We didn’t have private health insurance so Selengor wasn’t an option either.

It was then that I started thinking about homebirth. It was a confusing time, not sure about whether I should just give birth the ‘conventional’ way or pursue my desire to have another water birth. In between crying, (I was pregnant, tired & emotional!) I was praying.

A Bible verse that stood out to me was Isaiah 41.10

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.

Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you & help you.

I will hold you up with my victorious right hand”

This verse just reassured me to keep going down the path of trying to have a natural water birth. Then, through some amazing circumstances I met a home birth midwife named Claire Hall. She believed all the same things that I did about pregnancy & birth. This is a quote from her website;

“I believe that pregnancy & birth is a natural life event & one that should be enjoyed without fear.

Birth is something that women are designed to do.

We need to trust, to love & to surrender & we will never cease to be amazed by the miracle that is the creation of new life, & the bringing of that life into the world.

Birthing a baby is one of the most beautiful & significant things that you will ever do.”

So Jude was born at home, in the bath (we had a big spa like bath) the whole experience was SO amazing, I could gush about it all day!

I love talking about my positive birth experiences; it’s easy to only remember the not so positive stories. My births were by no means pain free or easy but I was prepared, mentally & physically with a very positive attitude which I think makes a huge difference.

Don’t be afraid of birth, educate yourself, surround yourself with positive supportive people & trust your instincts.

And remember the advice I gave myself… You can’t control everything, by all means prepare & plan but you don’t run the show!


Travelling: I haven’t travelled outside of Australia. I love camping; Hervey Bay is my favourite spot.

What do you think your future holds: Who knows?! I could never have guessed that my life would take the path it has so far. I hope that I get to grow old with Glen & watch our boy’s grow up to be caring & content young men & that they give us lots of grand babies to love!

Let me know if you would like to be part of this series…anyone is welcome!


One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Corinne Barnett on May 11, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    SO proud of you! Love you.

    Reply

What do you think?

