Hi-ho, hi-ho, it’s off to work I go!

I’m just sitting here in my classroom while waiting for my next parent teacher interview (which is in 1 1/2hrs). I thought I would eat my dinner and write about one of my loves.

Some days I have to remind myself why I love my job so much. Mainly so I can smile and feel an immense joy in the amazing blessing God has bestowed on me – I work at a beautiful, caring school that is striving for excellence in all students. I work with a bunch of incredibly hard-working, devoted staff. Not many people can say that they work in a place that they are in love with. My class is close to heaven and I get to spend my day exploring the world and discovering new things with them. Not only do I get to teach them, they teach me – I love how we work together as a unit and are passionate about our learning.

My style of teaching is to gradually release responsibility to my students as they gain expertise, teaching a few strategies of great consequences in-depth over time, and giving children the gifts of time, choice, response, community, and structure. I try to explicitly teach concepts and balance that with inquiry, exploration and discovery. If you walked in to my classroom, you could catch us deep discussion with one another or moving about the room trying to achieve a goal we have set together or as individuals. I love my job!

One of my students and I during our class celebration of the 'Gold Rush'.

Working out some tricky Maths stuff in the 'Maths Zone' in our classroom before we go off and work in small groups.

Don’t get me wrong – I have my yucky days like anyone else. Those yucky days rarely are the product of my students or my environment, it is usually lack of sleep, too much to do in a short space of time, or purely just frustration with the direction teaching is headed. Teachers hands are being tied behind our backs more and more as we are required to push, push, push students to meet National standards at the highest end possible. It is so crucial to stay focussed on what education is about and not get caught up in all the politics that education is getting tangled up in – it is to instill a love of learning in your students so they can be the very best that they can possibly be. There is nothing more important than that!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Katrina, you are an amazing woman & I feel so blessed to have you involved in mine & my kids lives. I thank God for you & Kirk regularly. Love you !

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amy .T on July 26, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    What a lucky group of parents and kids. Wish you taught mine. Your school sounds amazing and a great place to be. Keep it up!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kimmie-lee on July 27, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Your classroom is so bright and colourful and looks like it would be a fun and exciting place to learn. Are you making scones? Jee, I am thinking back to what my classroom was like all those years ago and there is no comparison! We never made scones 😦

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mum on July 28, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I love visiting your class. Such a happy positive atmosphere…you have them all engaged…and they are so polite! Well done Treens you amaze me!!

    Reply

What do you think?

