Farmer K

Farmer K is the name I was given by my mother-in-law when I would come over to visit their farm. They had chooks (I get busted by hubby if I call them ‘chickens’ – so “unaustralian”), geese, goats, ducks, quail, cats and bees…all living harmoniously together. I would put her gum boots on and go out to feed some of the animals and this is how I picked up the name ‘Farmer K’.

I can see this ‘prophecy’ coming true of late with our back-to-basics, long-time life goal. We started by growing our own food, making foods from scratch that we once bought premade, and now for our latest project……chickens! I mean CHOOKS!

I'll take some of these darlings thanks.

We go through at least two eggs a day in our smoothie, and to buy free range eggs now it is up to $6.00 a dozen. Cage and barn laid eggs are a tad cheaper, but we avoid these ones. I remember someone saying to me, “each time you buy eggs, it is your vote for how you want these animals treated.” It is probably worth our while just getting our own chooks and sharing our goodies with friends and family at the same time!

Other things on my list to accomplish in the near future: my friend Jodi has inspired me to make my own jam. There is also a course you can take in Cooroy which shows you how to make your own wine and other fermented food that my friend Laura told me about. I also wanted to plant a lemon tree and have bees making honey in the backyard…but hubby said no – he has his reasons…which are valid I guess πŸ™‚ Maybe if I had a garden like the one below I would get my own way.

The ultimate in kitchen gardening *sigh*

On a side note: we just had some exceptional Bluegrass music playing randomly in the background and hubby says with a big grin, “that song just makes me want to get chooks.” I think we need to move onto that farm of our dreams sooner than we thought….and just rereading this, we do sound a bit country don’t we!…..

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laura on July 27, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    …hmmmm…big sigh….. πŸ™‚ How awesome does that garden look? I lost myself in that photo for a while!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Robyn on July 27, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I’ve been dreaming of living on a farm for nearly 50 years Katrina and still haven’t done it. Promise me you won’t wait that long. Sharing the same dream with Kirk will make it happen for sure. I’d love to come for a farmstay πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mum on July 28, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Go for it guys…can’t wait to meet ‘the girls’!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kirk on July 30, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Hoping to pick up the girls tomorrow. We are going to start off with two chooks and then get some more in a couple of months.

    Reply

What do you think?

