Farmer K Update: growing our own food

My posts on here have been few and far between lately, so I thought I’d give you a quick update using photos of our vegie-growth in our backyard. Click here for the previous photos.

Garden Bed 1 - garlic, broccoli, honeysnap peas

Garden Bed 2 - carrots, celery and kale

Broccoli

It is all getting so big!

Our first tomato growing.

Our strawberries

First sign of a lemon on our lemon tree

Maximus trying to avoid the chooks as best he can.

Panini will have nothing to do with the chooks, but watches them carefully.

This Jasmine vine is growing on our water tank and smells incredible. When we leave the back door open the scent goes all through our house.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Looks great Treens….looks like you have having fun getting back to nature! Mwah

    Reply

  2. Posted by GwendaB2 on September 4, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Very impressive!! You are both looking soooo healthy!! Go guys!! xxx

    Reply

  3. Posted by Robyn on September 4, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Please teach me…everything looks so good.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rebecca on September 6, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Trina!
    How do you get your Broccolli to look so good?!
    Mine’s very sad and I’ve had a lot of problems with slugs.
    I’ve had ‘florets’ growing, but they’re very sad.
    The stalks seem to grow very tall, but the ‘broccolli’ is a sad sight.
    HELP fellow gardener! : )

    P.S. Hope you’re well!

    Bec

    Reply

    • Hey Bec! I am not sure exactly why ours are like this…it may be the shade cloth structure Kirk made as it keeps out a lot of insects? I had a slug get into my basil last weekend – I was not happy! So I let our chooks loose in the garden and they sorted it out for me.
      What other things are you growing? I’d love to see some pics! I am always interested in other people’s gardens. xx

      Reply

  5. wow the garden is looking awesome! Well done you guys
    xx

    Reply

What do you think?

