Going Bananas Over Monkey Bread

My recipe book of all my favs.

As most of you already know, I love Quirky Cooking. It is very handy if you have a Thermomix, but you can definitely make the recipes without one – you will just need to adjust them….and it will take you longer to make. I enjoy trying her recipes and feeding them to my husband. He seems to enjoy it too :) Today after a big day out in Noosa, I decided I felt like doing a bit of a cook-fest when we got home, so I had a go at creating her delicious-looking Monkey Bread. I have never baked or eaten Monkey Bread before, so this would be fun! Luckily she has pictures on her blog too.

Me making Monkey Bread (shame 'bread' doesn't start with 'M').

Here it is straight from her blog, with a scattering of my pics. Any alterations of mine are written in green.

Monkey Bread Recipe

1. Make a batch of Hot Cross Bun Dough, but leave the Rapadura (or sugar) out – you won’t need it, since it’s going to be rolled in Rapadura anyway. Or if you like you can just use plain bread dough. (I make my dough wheat and dairy free, but you can use just a regular hot cross bun recipe if you want to.) Let the dough rise in a warm spot until doubled in size.

The hot cross bun mixture used for the Monkey Bread.

2. Melt about a cup of butter or ghee in the Thermomix at 80 degrees, 2 minutes, speed 2 (or until all melted). Pour into a bowl. [If using rice-almond milk instead of butter, warm it up a little.]

3. Prepare tins by greasing with a little butter/ghee (I just used cold-pressed olive oil spray cause I am lazy). I used 6 mini Bundt tins, and 1 loaf tin. You could use 2 loaf tins, or 1 big Bundt tin. (I used a round cake tin and three ramekins which sat in a try of water in the oven. You can use any tin you like though!).

4. In another bowl, mix together about a cup of Rapadura and 2-3 teaspoons of ground cinnamon.

5. Pinch off small pieces of dough, roll them into balls, and roll them in the melted butter (and/or milk)…… then in the cinnamon-Rapadura mixture.

Dunk and rub.

6. Place the balls into the prepared tins, using smaller balls to fill in spaces. Only fill half full and then let them rise until they’re nearly at the top of the tin.

Putting the balls into the tin.

7. Drizzle with any remaining butter/ghee/milk.

8. Place in a cold oven and turn it on to 180 degrees C, and cook for about 30 minutes (depending on how big the tins are you’re using). They should be nicely browned when done.

9. Let them cool for about 5 minutes, then tip them out, upside down, onto a plate.

The finished product :)

The result: a very happy husband scoffing down warm Monkey Bread with Jersey cream. I am definitely making this again for Christmas (the cinnamon & nutmeg aroma adds that special Chrissy feel).

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laura on November 6, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    So good to see you make it. I have it on my list of ‘when I get time to try something new…’. Looks so good! :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jodes on November 6, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    You are ridiculous <3

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shara on November 6, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    totally loving her blog…everything looks so yummy!!

    Reply

What do you think?

